Grant’s Getaways — Oregon Ghost Towns (2015)


Sumpter Dredge, Golden, McCoy, Ballston and Hopewell, all ‘ghost towns” mentioned in this Grant’s Getaways.

On a personal note, I don’t think of Hopewell as a ghost town because I grew up about a mile or so from the store and attended 1-6 grade in the three-classroom schoolhouse. Most of my immediate family still lives there. Things I remember about the store was the clomp of boots on the hardwood floors and the fragrance of the oil finish.  Although I don’t remember who owned the store when I was 5-6 years old, they already knew the importance of product placement. The penny candy display was in square shelves inside a wooden box that stood on the floor to about the top of my head. Bazooka Joe bubble gum was my favorite because I liked the little paper cartoons folded over the gum pieces! The very last scene in the video was taken from the Hopewell Church and shows the cemetery and farmlands.

Posted on November 9, 2015, in state parks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

